top of page

Beta Kappa Omega History


Beta Kappa Omega Chapter is the graduate Wichita chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  The chapter was chartered April 1, 1935.  The chapter has a rich heritage of women making a difference in the Wichita community and internationally in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority.


The Charter members of Beta Kappa Omega were:


Helen Finley Anderson

Josephine Cunningham Lee

Erma Ratliffe West

Marie Mayberry Roberts

Clara Armstead

Irene Woodward

Elva Casear

Velma Mae Gardner

Soror Marie Mayberry Roberts was first elected President of Beta Kappa Omega.  The first initiated members of Beta Kappa Omega were Josephine Tolbert Stewart and Francise Rawls Renfroe. 


In 1935, the Sorors of Wichita, Kansas hosted the 6th Annual Mid-Western Regional Conference.  Meetings were held at Calvary Baptist Church located at 601 N. Water.  The Parish House was used for the closed banquet.  Beta Kappa Omega served as co-host to the social events with Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc, who was hosting their Regional Conference.  Beta Kappa Omega served as host for the Mid-Western Conferences in 1941, 1984 (54th) at the Wichita Hilton East, 2001 (71st) at the Wichita Hyatt, and co-host Area D, 2006 (76th) at the Sheraton Convention Center in Kansas City, 2011 (81st) at the Wichita Hyatt, and 2016 (86th) at the Wichita Hyatt.


Throughout the years since its inception, Beta Kappa Omega continues to fulfill its purpose in the Wichita Area. The chapter continues to carry on the tradition of community service, fundraising, civic contributions, youth mentoring and financial empowerment.  The chapter continues to root itself as a sisterhood of support, a sisterhood of increased scholarship contributions, and a sisterhood of service to all mankind.

Chapter Presidents of Beta Kappa Omega

Willa McLean

Martha Penn Hicks

Dorothy Barnett

Sarah Hill Long Stewart

Louise Fort Gooch

Gladys Hill

Mayme Crouch

Gertrude Farmer 

2024 Chapter Officers


Regina McCarty

Vice President

Marché Fleming-Randle 

2nd Vice President

Paris Lipsey-Coley 

Recording Secretary

Kelsey Martin 

Assistant Secretary

Monica Wilson 

Corresponding Secretary

Jennifer McDonald


Khajriyyah Adkins 

Financial Secretary

Linda Tillman 

Ivy Leaf Reporter

Michelle Vann  


Jennifer Fleming 


Jennifer Jones

Sergeant of Arms

Kim Henderson 


Virdena Gilkey

Graduate Advisor

Tia Owens

Undergraduate Chapter 
Epsilon Alpha

Wichita State University

bottom of page